Google Chrome: “Failed to create a ProcessSingleton for your profile directory” fix.

26 05 2011

Hi all,

I had a problem starting Google Chrome on one of my servers today. It started with a whole bunch of errors, the most pronounced of which was as follows:

Failed to create a ProcessSingleton for your profile directory.
This means that running multiple instances would start multiple
browser processes rather than opening a new window in the
existing process. Aborting now to avoid profile corruption.

Try as I might, I couldn’t sort the problem. I tried deleting the config folder (/home/user/.config/google-chrome), and other standard random chances. The fix, however, was absurdly simple. I happened to use “df -h” during my research, and found that my / partition was completely full. I went into /tmp, found about 4Gb of useless cruft, and promptly deleted it. Problem sorted.

n00b

Actions

Information

6 responses

9 10 2011
Damien

brilliant, that was exactly my problem. Thank you for the useless error message, chrome.

9 10 2011
n00bsys0p

Hi Damien,

Glad my post helped you!

This site’s been discontinued, and is now up and running here – it’s got all the content from here and more!

n00b

23 08 2012
krithi

excellent ! solved my problem, thanks a ton :)

23 08 2012
n00bsys0p

No problem Krithi. Check out my new blog at http://n00bsys0p.co.uk for more useful tips!

26 12 2012
Welo

Good post mate. Sure it helped me as well! had about 5g of unwanted crap in tmp folder as well. Cheers for the info.

29 12 2012
n00bsys0p

Hi Welo. Glad to be of service! Check out my new blog at http://n00bsys0p.co.uk for more useful tips!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

